S Selvaganapathy set to be Puducherry’s first BJP MP
S Selvaganapathy set to be Puducherry’s first BJP MP

S Selvaganapathy set to be Puducherry’s first BJP MP

Text Size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
S Selvaganapathy file his nomination paper.
PUDUCHERRY: The Union territory of Puducherry is all set to get its first BJP MP. The BJP central office announced the former nominated MLA of the party and party's Puducherry unit treasurer S Selvaganapathy as the candidate for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in the territory.
Selvaganapathy filed his nomination paper in the presence of chief minister N Rangasamy, home minister A Namassivayam, BJP MLAs and BJP in-charge for Puducherry Nirmal Kumar Surana before Puducherry legislative assembly secretary R Mounissamy, who is the returning officer.
The opposition parties - DMK and Congress - did not field any candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat until the deadline of 3pm on September 22 leaving Selvaganapathy as the lone political candidate for the seat. Two independent candidates have filed their nomination papers.
The returning officer, who will scrutinize the nomination papers on Thursday, will reject the candidatures of the independents as none of the MLAs has extended their support to them clearing the deck for Selvaganapathy to be elected to the Rajya Sabha unopposed.
Earlier, speaking to reporters, Surana said the All India NR Congress (AINRC)-BJP alliance would continue for the local body polls, which will be held in three phases from October 21. He thanked Rangasamy for extending support to the party's candidate for the Rajya Sabha seat.
The leader of the opposition and DMK legislature party leader R Siva questioned the rationale behind AINRC for sacrificing the Rajya Sabha seat to BJP despite being the single largest party in the assembly. He further questioned whether BJP managed to set the seat by promising statehood and waiver of legacy loans of the territory.
Start a Conversation
end of article